Select Page

Namibia among the countries removed from UK’s COVID-19 quarantine list

Namibia among the countries removed from UK’s COVID-19 quarantine list

London – Travellers arriving in England from Namibia, Israel, Uruguay, Rwanda and Sri Lanka will no longer have to self-isolate, a senior British official announced Thursday, according to Xinhua News agency.

Those arriving in England from Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the Northern Mariana Islands will also not have to isolate for 14 days, British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said, adding that the changes take effect from 4:00 a.m. (0400 GMT) on Saturday.

No countries are being added to the quarantine list this week, Shapps said on Twitter.

Despite the change in the policy, the visitors arriving in England will still have to follow lockdown rules, which will last until 2 December

England is currently under a month-long national lockdown, the second of its kind since the coronavirus outbreak in Britain, in a bid to quell the resurgence of COVID-19.

Another 22,915 people in Britain have tested positive for COVID-19, bringing the total number of coronavirus cases in the country to 1,453,256, according to official figures released Thursday.

Since the outbreak, Namibia recorded 13,662 cumulative confirmed cases, 13,182 recoveries and 141 total deaths.


About The Author

News Service

News Services form an indispensable part of the newsroom toolbox. In Africa, there are several advanced providers of information, some servicing the entire continent while others are more regional, or country specific. The Namibia Economist employs a wide spectrum of local, regional, continental and international News Services.