Select Page

Table Tennis for all concludes

Girl’s winner Kaitlyn Beukes with NTTA chairman Reinhardt Stanley.

Girl’s winner Kaitlyn Beukes with NTTA chairman Reinhardt Stanley.

Namibian Table Tennis Association (NTTA) successfully hosted its first ever Table Tennis for All tournament at the Police Table Tennis Club last weekend.
Some 40 players of all ages, NTTA members and non-members, accepted the NTTA’s invitation to participate, in what the NTTA hopes to become an annual event in the future with the focus on team building for companies.
The tournament was made possible by Windhoek Consulting Engineers (WCE), a leading local Consulting Engineering company which generously sponsored N$5,000. The majority of the money went to the players as lots of a price money was up for grabs.
The new and exciting event worked as follows: The NTTA set up six Tables. Two Tables for seniors, one table for juniors (under 18) and three tables for social players. At each table, a game called “Beat the Champ” was played with a “plankie”.
Beating the Champ which any player can challenged the “Champion” of his respective division at a specific table. A player only became the “Champion” after he defeated the current champion at that specific table and a player could only earn points while being “Champion”. A point was earned by winning a match of which a match comprised out of one game/set.
Players could challenge as many times as they wanted. Scores were kept at each table; and the overall winner was the person with the highest amount of accumulated points; and the player who had the longest consecutive runs as champion.
In the social division, there was no stopping Robby Echelmeyer. The towering player from Windhoek showcased an exceptional performance throughout the day to take home the overall win. The second place went to an almost equally strong Akatoka Mwala, while Martin Schurz had to settle for third.

Meanwhile Conwin van Wyk came out on top in the junior category. The youngster from Rehoboth edged out Ronaldo Vogel and Raimo Dengeinge who came in second and third respectively. In the girl’s division, Kaitlyn Beukes was crowned the winner with Reese Saunderson in second place. Reinhold Schurz, who just returned from a veteran tournament in South Africa, had the least problems getting used to the “Plankie” as he stormed to win the senior category in dominant fashion. Second-placed Heiko Fleidl and third placed Reinhardt Stanley had to acknowledge the superiority of Schurz.
“It was an exciting tournament and we would like to thank everyone who came out and made this event happen. We have a lot to look forward to in the future,” said Reinhardt Stanley, Chairman of the NTTA.

About The Author