Select Page

Team Kia unstoppable

The overall men winner’s (from left to right). Xavier Papo (second), Martin Freyer (first) and Herbert Peters (third).

The overall men winner’s (from left to right). Xavier Papo (second), Martin Freyer (first) and Herbert Peters (third).

Namibia’s Team Kia cyclist Martin Freyer dominated the “Dundee Precious Metals Tsumeb MTB Challenge” which formed third race of this year’s Kia Mountain Bike Series which took place in Tsumeb last weekend.
The youngster from Windhoek took top honours in the men’s open race which simultaneously gave him the overall win.
The open category was, however, an extremely closely contested affair. Without the likes of Tristan de Lange and Freyer’s team mate Michael Pretorius, who was out due to a cold, Freyer and his rival Xavier Papo fought a hard race from the very beginning.
Neither contestant was able to leave his rival behind during the 70 kilometre long race and gain much-needed advantage. Eventually, Freyer managed to edge out Papo with a blink of an eye. Freyer needed 2:40:12 hours to finish with Papo following very shortly thereafter with a time of 2:40:14.
Hester Prins clinched the first place in the open woman’s division with a time of 3:11:21. She was the only rider to compete.
Meanwhile Herbert Peters put up a great display in the junior boy’s race. Although the youngster was the only rider in his division, his time of 2:40:15 gave him the third overall place.

In the Sub-Veteran men’s race over 70 km Jacques Celliers came out on top in 2:43:47 minutes. Frans-Anthonie Gerber followed in second place (2:49:55), while Louis Prins clinched the third place (3:11:09). Johanita de Waal won the women’s sub-veteran category as the only contestant.
In other action Nick du Plessis emerged victorious in the Veteran men’s category (2:47:51), edging out Mark Barrow (2:57:10) and Johan Fourie (3:06:43) in the process.
As the only rider in the Veterans woman’s category, Mandy Huysam came out on top with a time of 3:39:03.
The remaining races in the 2014 Kia Mountainbike Series as follows: Ugab Terrace (19 July), The Rock (13 September), Daan Viljoen (18 October).

About The Author