Select Page

Bowling veterans win senior tournament

Winners Ewald Vermeulen (left) and Bea Lamprecht with Gerrie Barnard of the event sponsor TrenTyre.

Winners Ewald Vermeulen (left) and Bea Lamprecht with Gerrie Barnard of the event sponsor TrenTyre.

Bowls veterans Bea Lamprecht and Ewald Vermeulen won last weekend’s TrenTyre Senior Pairs Competition. Only players above the age of 50 were allowed to play at the tournament, which was hosted at the TransNamib Bowls Club in Windhoek. The second place went to the team of Avril Kotze and Moolman van Zyl, while Babs van der Merwe and her partner Horst Zimny had to settle for third. Thanks to her strong performance throughout the weekend, Avril Kotze was awarded as Player of the Tournament.
This weekend starting Friday 08 October, the Windhoek league will continue with three teams from each Windhoek-based club allowed to participate at the Windhoek Country Club. TransNamib Bowls Club currently occupies the number one position in the overall standing and it will take a monumental effort from the second placed Eros Bowls Club to catch up with the log leader. Great bowls can be expected at this event, which marks the second league day of the season. Furthermore the Namibian Bowling Association (NBA) has announced the national teams that will represent Namibia at the upcoming SA test series, which is scheduled to take place from 01 to 03 November in Pretoria. The national squads will be accompanied by a men’s and women’s senior team that will also compete in Pretoria, but without national colours and therefore not as official national team. The Namibian National Women team consists of Diana Viljoen, Sheena du Toit, Lesley Vermeulen, Anjuleen Viljoen and Beatrix Lamprecht. The National Men’s team members are Graham Snyman,  Will Esterhuizen, Ewald Vermeulen, Jean Viljoen and Axel Krahenbuhl. The Women Senior team members are Jean Joubert, Erna Muller, Avril Kotze, Belina Meyer and Caryl Andreas, while the men are Tollie Cronje, Kiewiet Rust,  Willie Esterhuizen,  Ekki Gardner and Eric Luff.

About The Author

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<