Select Page

Diverse Board set up to govern Science and Research Commission

Diverse Board set up to govern Science and Research Commission

The Minister of Higher and Education and Innovation, Dr. Itah Kandjii-Murangi announced the Board of Commissioners at the National Commission on Research Science and Technology (NCRST), on Thursday.

The 14 commissioners will serve on the board for a period of four years and was set up as per Section 6 of the Research Science and Technology Act, 2004.

The commissioners include: Dr. Nortin Titus from (Board Chairperson)- Ministry of Mines and Energy, Josephine Joste //Hauba ( Board Vice Chairperson)- Unam, Riaan Steenkamp- Unam, Graca Bauleth D’Almeida- Fisheries and Marine Resources, Tsali Iithete- Ongwediva Medipark, Elly Hamunyela- Ministry of Environment and Tourism, Mirriam Sezuni- Namibia Malaria Elimination Partnership, Patience Saushini- Ministry of Works and Transport, Johannes Ashipala- National Planning Commission, Ivonne Mujoro-Kaukuetu- Ministry of Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare, Joshua Kaumbi- Legal Practitioner, Johanna Andowa- Ministry of Agriculture, Wate and Forestry, Benjamin Katjipuka- Ministry of Trade and Industry and Sylvia Demas- National Coucil of Higher Education.

Dr. Kandjii-Murangi urged the 14 to lead the institution with high level of fairness, transparency and integrity at all times.

The minister urged the board to ensure that the Science Commission strengthens, perfects and promotes research facilitation, while at the same time developing, defining and educating higher institutions, government ministries and private stakeholders on solutions to national challenges and national policies.

I urge all members to be highly professional at all times in handling duties. I call upon you to put systems in place to curb corrupt activities as you embark on this important responsibility. Government is entrusting you to lead and guide the Commision with diligent and fairness. Do your utmost best to grow research capacity in our country and increase opportunities for scientific solutions to our nation’s many socio-economic challenges,” Dr. Kandjii-Murangi said.

Caption: Seated ( Ministry team)from the left Dr Alfred Van Kent, P.S, Dr Itah Kandjii-Murangi, Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation, Dr Becky Joze-Ojo, Deputy Minister, Dr Lisho Mundia, Director of Research, Science and Innovation. Back row: NCRST new Commissioners.

About The Author

Donald Matthys

Donald Matthys has been part of the media fraternity since 2015. He has been working at the Namibia Economist for the past three years mainly covering business, tourism and agriculture. Donald occasionally refers to himself as a theatre maker and has staged two theatre plays so far. Follow him on twitter at @zuleitmatthys

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<