Select Page

Slaughter ox quality shows significant improvement compared to 2016

Slaughter ox quality shows significant improvement compared to 2016

There is something special in the grazing around Aub, the two top slaughter ox producers both hail from this district.

Theuns Johnson and Achim Helm were the overall winner and runner-up respectively at the recent conclusion of the Agra Slaughter Ox competition run by Agra Auctions in partnership with several sponsors.

Herman Lintvelt, Agra Regional Manager of Central Auctions said the quality of animals was much better this year than in 2016. Following a good response from producers, Agra intends to expand this competition as from next year.

In the regional pre-qualifiers, TH Goldbeck took both first and second places in Windhoek with H Rusch in third.
In Okahandja, Hennie Kruger was first followed by Cloudy Sky Investment second and TG Giersch third.
In Aub it was Johnson first, CJ Steenkamp second and Helm third. And in Nina Ryno van der Merwe took both first and third spots with PZ Jansen van Vuuren second.

For the pre-qualifiers, four competitions were held where a total of 155 oxen were judged at an average slaughter weight of 252 kg, compared to 120 oxen judged at an average weight of 240 kg in 2016. The first competition was held at Aub on 14 June 2017, followed by Windhoek on 28 June 2017, Okahandja on 18 July 2017 and Nina on 15 August 2017.

To participate in the competition, each producer entered two animals to be judged on the hoof and from the hook.

On the hoof judging looked at age, fat, masculinity, temperament and animal management. This category makes up 40% of the total score. On the hook, the carcass was judged solely for meat quality making up 60% of the score.

Judging was done by Tiaan Steenkamp of Agra and Petrus Maritz, the Head of the Meatboard’s Classification Services.

Old Mutual sponsored the competition with N$110,000. Sponsor partners were Feedmaster, Beefcor and Esterhuizen Transport.

Pictured from the left, Drikus Delport of Feedmaster, Theuns Johnson, overall winner, Achim Helm, runner-up, Tiaan Steenkamp of Agra Auctions, Niel van der Linde of Old Mutual and Andre Esterhuizen of Esterhuizen Transport.



About The Author

The Staff Reporter

The staff reporter is the most senior in-house Economist reporter. This designation is frequently used by the editor for articles submitted by third parties, especially businesses, but which had to be rewritten completely. - Ed.

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<