Select Page

Hosea Kutako International airport gets licence

In pursuit of airport safety and security and in conformity with the applicable civil aviation regulations, the Namibia Airports Company (NAC) recently had the aerodrome licence for Hosea Kutako International Airport (HKIA) renewed by the Directorate of Civil Aviation (DCA).

Under the Civil Aviation Act, an airport is licensed once it is in full conformity with the Namibian requirements on aerodrome licensing and operations as laid down in the Namibia Civil Aviation Regulations (NAMCARs).
During the months of May to July 2015, the DCA inspected HKIA for licensing purposes and the licence was awarded on 22 July 2015, confirming compliance to the equipment, technical facilities and services for the operations and maintenance of the airport requirements.
“The continuous improvement of safety and security of airport operations is one of the six strategic priority areas as outlined in the NAC’s Strategic Plan 2014-2017 and similar activities are on-going for the airports of Eros, Ondangwa, and Walvis Bay airports by the end of 2015 for successful renewal of their operational licences”, said NAC Marketing Officer Dan Kamati.
NAC established a Board of Directors sub-committee on Safety and Security Compliance in January 2015, to lead the implementation of the approved Safety Management System (SMS) Plan, while a Risk and Compliance Team was established within the Office of the CEO to manage the implementation of the Safety Management System (SMS) and compliance activities.
The Safety Compliance Manual for HKIA as well as a three-year plan for the implementation of a SMS were both approved by DCA in 2014.
Once completed, the current licensing process will enhance the level of compliance of NAC’s airports to national and international safety and security requirements, ultimately contributing to Namibia fulfilling its commitment to license all international airports by December 2015 as per the Declaration adopted by all African States in Abuja (Nigeria) in July 2012.

About The Author