Select Page

Commonwealth games team announced

The final team that is to participate for the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games was announced on Wednesday and will see familiar faces of Dan Craven, Johanna Benson and Gaby Diana Ahrens carry the country’s flag in the different sporting disciplines.
The team that will represent the country from 23 July to 3 August in Glasgow, Scotland. was announced during a media conference and as a courtesy call to the Minister of Sport, Hon. Jerry Ekandjo.
The Namibian Delegation to the 2014 for the third largest multi-sport event in the world,  will be led by the following delegation Dawid Augustyn Chef de Mission (CDM) and Hendrik Mapele General Team Manager (GTM).
The sporting disciplines that will be representing the country at this year’s edition of the games will be athletics, bowling, cycling, the Paralympic team, shooting, triathlon, wrestling and boxing.
Athletics: The officials for athletics will be Dennis Skrywer Athletics Official, Robert Kaxuxuena Athletics Official and the team will include: Helalia Johannes Athletics Marathon Athlete, Beata Naigambo Athletics Marathon Athlete, Ndeshimona Leena Ekandjo Athletics Marathon Athlete and Reonard Namupala Athletics Marathon Athlete

Bowls: The officials will be Alexander Joubert Lawn Bowls Official; Jean Joubert Lawn Bowls Official and Ewald Frank Vermeulen Lawn Bowls Fours.The bowls team will have different categories and will include: Triples Athlete Douw Calitz Lawn Bowls Fours, Pairs Athlete Willem Erasmus Esterhuizen Lawn Bowls Pairs, Singles Athlete Steven Michael Peake Lawn Bowls Fours Triples Athlete and Gideon Appollis Lawn Bowls Fours Triples Athlete
Cycling :Officials for cycling will be Richard Shephard Cycling Official, Gerrit van Schalkwyk Cycling Official; Jean-Carlo Krohne Cycling Official. The cycling team will also feature different cycling disciplines and the team will include: Irene Eliza Steyn Cycling Road Race, Time Trial Athlete, Dan Craven Cycling Road Race Athlete, Raul Costa Seibeb Cycling Road Race Athlete, Loto Shipandeni Petrus Cycling Road Race Athlete, Heiko Gerold Redecker Cycling MTB, Road Race Athlete Vera Adrian Cycling MTB, Road Race Athlete, Gerhard Mans Cycling Road Race, Time Trial Athlete and Till Drobisch Cycling Road Race, Time Trial Athlete.
The paralympic team will include:Penandino Kanatjekuina Kandjii Parasport Official, Tertius Leroy Beukes Parasport Official, Zikizee Mutenge Parasport Official, Michael Hamukwaya Parasport Official, Johanna Benson Parasport 100m Athlete, Long jump Athlete Johanna Katjikuru, Ruben Soroseb Parasport Power-lifting Athlete, Even Tjiviju Parasport Guide for Johanna K Athlete, Charles Cloete Parasport Guide for Anna Athlete, Anna Mashodi Kambinda Parasport 100m Athlete, Lahja Omagano Ishitile Parasport 100m Athlete, David Shavuka Ndeilenga Parasport Guide for Lahja Athlete and Etchegaray Ndeiweva Nguluwe Parasport Discus Athlete.
Shooting: Hasso Wolgang Ahrens Shooting Official, Gaby Diana Ahrens Shooting Trap Athlete.
Wrestling:Johannes Homateni Wrestling Official, Angula Shikongo and Wrestling 97kg Freestyle Athlete.
Boxing:Kenneth Muatara Boxing Official, Jacob Gariseb Boxing Official, Mujandje Kasuto Boxing 81 kg Athlete, Immanuel Shapaka Boxing 52kg Athlete, Lazarus Shaningwa Boxing 60kg Athlete, Jonas Junias Jonas Boxing 64kg Athlete.
Triathlon: Cheryl Young Triathlon Official, Drikus Coetzee Triathlon Athlete
Other team members to travel to the games will be Anna Geleni Office Administrator Official, Vernon Morkel Medical Official, T’Neil Losper Medical Official as well as the media which will be represented by Elke Bockmuhl and Heiko Wilhelm.

About The Author