Select Page

Paying homeage to the dearly departed

Dear family of the deceased Kuaima Riruako, dear acting Paramount Chief Tumbee Tjombe, dear community of the Ovaherero, dear Ovaherero Genocide Committee, dear friends and comrades in Namibia, with deep sorrow and regret I learned about the passing away of Paramount Chief and Member of Parliament Kuaimo Riruako on 2nd June 2014. I would like to express my deep and sincere condolences to his close family, the whole Ovaherero community and the whole Nation of Namibia. I felt this loss even deeper, as we all lost an upright fighter for humanity and reconciliation. Sometimes it needs the people of strong courage and endurance to wake the people up and lead them to a brighter future for all. I believe Kuaima Riruako was someone like this. Often controversial, but in the end unifying, pushing the right things forward and always ready to reach beyond in the quest for reconciliation. Unforgotten will be the strong demand for recognition of the genocide of 1904-07 and the unanimous passing of the genocide motion in the National Assembly of the country on the initiative of Kuaima Riruako, as well as his visit to the German Bundestag in 2007.

Only a recognition of this sad chapter in German-Namibian relations and the openness for dialogue can pave the day for restorative justice. And I will continue this struggle on the side of the nation and strongly believe that we could one day get over with this in a dignified way and look each other in the eyes to talk about a better future for all.
My thoughts will be with you on when the Paramount Chief will be laid to rest with his ancestors. The Left Party and I pay our respect to his achievements and to his services for his people and his country. His soul and spirit will live on. His legacy remains a commitment for all of us.
Yours Sincerely Niema Movassat  Member of the German Parliament Spokesman on World Food Affairs Chairman of the LEFT PARTY Parliamentary Group on the Committee on Economic Cooperation and Development Deputy Member in the Committee on Foreign Affairs Deputy Chairman of the German-SADC parliamentary friendship group

About The Author

Following reverse listing, public can now acquire shareholding in Paratus Namibia


20 February 2020, Windhoek, Namibia: Paratus Namibia Holdings (PNH) was founded as Nimbus Infrastructure Limited (“Nimbus”), Namibia’s first Capital Pool Company listed on the Namibian Stock Exchange (“NSX”).

Although targeting an initial capital raising of N$300 million, Nimbus nonetheless managed to secure funding to the value of N$98 million through its CPC listing. With a mandate to invest in ICT infrastructure in sub-Sahara Africa, it concluded management agreements with financial partner Cirrus and technology partner, Paratus Telecommunications (Pty) Ltd (“Paratus Namibia”).

Paratus Namibia Managing Director, Andrew Hall

Its first investment was placed in Paratus Namibia, a fully licensed communications operator in Namibia under regulation of the Communications Regulatory Authority of Namibia (CRAN). Nimbus has since been able to increase its capital asset base to close to N$500 million over the past two years.

In order to streamline further investment and to avoid duplicating potential ICT projects in the market between Nimbus and Paratus Namibia, it was decided to consolidate the operations.

Publishing various circulars to shareholders, Nimbus took up a 100% shareholding stake in Paratus Namibia in 2019 and proceeded to apply to have its name changed to Paratus Namibia Holdings with a consolidated board structure to ensure streamlined operations between the capital holdings and the operational arm of the business.

This transaction was approved by the Competitions Commission as well as CRAN, following all the relevant regulatory approvals as well as the necessary requirements in terms of corporate governance structures.

Paratus Namibia has evolved as a fully comprehensive communications operator in Namibia and operates as the head office of the Paratus Group in Africa. Paratus has established a pan-African footprint with operations in six African countries, being: Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Zambia.

The group has achieved many successes over the years of which more recently includes the building of the Trans-Kalahari Fibre (TKF) project, which connects from the West Africa Cable System (WACS) eastward through Namibia to Botswana and onward to Johannesburg. The TKF also extends northward through Zambia to connect to Dar es Salaam in Tanzania, which made Paratus the first operator to connect the west and east coast of Africa under one Autonomous System Number (ASN).

This means that Paratus is now “exporting” internet capacity to landlocked countries such as Zambia, Botswana, the DRC with more countries to be targeted, and through its extensive African network, Paratus is well-positioned to expand the network even further into emerging ICT territories.

PNH as a fully-listed entity on the NSX, is therefore now the 100% shareholder of Paratus Namibia thereby becoming a public company. PNH is ready to invest in the future of the ICT environment in Namibia. The public is therefore invited and welcome to acquire shares in Paratus Namibia Holdings by speaking to a local stockbroker registered with the NSX. The future is bright, and the opportunities are endless.