Select Page

Bowls national team selected for Commonwealth Games

Following an active bowling season that started in December, the most promising bowls players have been identified and named in the national team that will represent Namibia during the northern hemisphere summer games. At the end of this month, the new round of games in the national league will prepare the team for participation at the Commonwealth Games.
The Namibian Bowling Association (NBA) has officially announced the team members that will represent Namibian at the Commonwealth Games in the Scottish capital Glasgow from 23 July to 3 August. The women’s team was selected during the NBA’s test-match series in November last year, while the men’s team had to undergo a rigorous training camp in February.
The teams are as follows:
Woman                                  Men
Bea Lamprecht                     Will Esterhuizen
Sheena du Toit                      Douw Calitz
Diana Viljoen                         Ewald Vermeulen
Lesley Vermeulen                 Steven Peake
Anjuleen Viljoen                    Piet Appollis
Sandy Joubert will act as coach and team manager. He will be assisted by Avril Kotze and Jean Joubert.

Both Namibian teams will participate in all four Bowling events in Scotland: Singles, Doubles, Triples and Fours.
The national teams have already started preparing for the Games, as their members were part of an extended training squad that was in action over the last few months already. Under the guidance of Sandy Joubert, the team will further increase their training with specialized skill training, fitness and conditioning and mental preparation.
The ongoing National League and the upcoming week-long National Championships at the end of May provide an excellent platform for the national players to get critical match practice.
Meanwhile the NBA has selected two junior players that will travel to Australia to participate at the World Junior Championships which is scheduled to go down from 10th to 16th November. The youngsters are: Waylon Wentzel and Mandie Steenkamp. The pair will compete in the singles events in the male and female categories respectively.

About The Author