Select Page

Pointbreak Open Water Swim

Lushano Lamprecht has proven again he is the leading young swimmer in Namibia by winning the Pointbreak Open Water Swim and improving his time by two minutes.

Lushano Lamprecht has proven again he is the leading young swimmer in Namibia by winning the Pointbreak Open Water Swim and improving his time by two minutes.

Lake Oanob Resort near Rehoboth was a hype of activity with favourable weather conditions for swimmers who took part in the annual Pointbreak Open Water swim last weekend.
It was no shock when the race ended as Lushano Lamprecht held his 2013 title and finished the 2.1km swim in 30:26, with a time improvement of two minutes from last year’s winning time.
Second in the Elite category was Matthew Reinhold in 32:43 and Thomas Kittel took third place in 34:49. In a phenomenal time of 31:20, the first lady to complete was Gabriella Liebenberg. Gabriella managed to keep with the front bunch and was second overall out the water, followed closely by Paddy Murphy, who won the Master age category.

The Female 15 and U category was won by Carissa Esslinger in 36:37. Second was Heleni Stergiadis in 36:41 and third Tanya Mackensen in 40:04.The Male 15 and U category was won by Tjaart Van Der Walt. Twins, Michael and Bruner Laubscher, were a second apart, in a time of 53:56 and 53:57 respectively.
Zoe Mitchell won the Senior category in a time of 36:32. In second place was Marike Skinner in 37:47 and Anita Vermeulen was third in 39:53.
Alexander Skinner won the Male Senior category. Veteran Skinner was also in the front pack of swimmers the entire race and was 4th overall in 32:11. In second place in the Male Senior category was Andrew Rowles in 34:22. In third place was Sean Moran in 35:02.
Elke Jagau won the Master Female category in 44:32. In second place was Monica Ochse in 45:37 and in third place Berrit Graf in 49:11.
Gideon Nasilowski, Namibian para-olympic swimmer, competed for the second time in the Pointbreak 2.1km swim. Caitlin Botha, who was born with Cerebral Palsy competed in the event for the first time. Caitlin is a member of Dolphin Swimming Club and has been taking part in all events competitively for the last 18months. Caitlin started swimming the 50m events and has progressed to the 200m events. On Sunday was Caitlin’s first open water event. She competed in the 700m event with her sister, Vick. It was the furthest distance she has ever raced. Caitlin is currently the only junior para swimmer in Namibia. With the support from Adriaan Maritz, Dolphin’s Club and her family, Caitlin is determined to try anything.
The 700m race was won by Arthur Loftie-Eaton in 11:17. Second in the Elite category was Jean-Paul Burger in 11:28 and third Macquelin Winkler in 11:45. The first female was Joanne Liebenberg in 11:34. She also won the 15 and U age category. Second in the category was Zune Weber in 12:10 and third Vicky Botha in 12:16.
The event organiser, OTB Sport showed gratitude to their annual sponsors Pointbreak, a Namibian Investment Management Group that manages assets in excess of N$5-billion for their sponsorship for the past six years.

Hits: 47

About The Author

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<