Select Page

Alternative solutions for fuel payments

Vicky Muranda, Manager: Corporate Communications at FNB Holdings.

Vicky Muranda, Manager: Corporate Communications at FNB Holdings.

FNB Namibia has advised its customers that debit and credit cards as well as cash will be the only means of payment for fuel after 28 February 2014. All banks have been advising their clients since June last year of the phasing out of these cards, which stems from a new regulation, the Determination on the Conduct of Card Transactions within the National Payment System (PSD-4), issued by the Bank of Namibia, which came into effect on 30 June 2013.
Vicky Muranda, FNB Holdings Communications Manager said “We realise that this new regulation by Bank of Namibia could be inconvenient for numerous people and especially companies, who can not issue their drivers with the companies debit or credit cards, nor cash for big lorries. At FNB Namibia, however, we have a number of solutions – for both small companies and those that sit with a fleet of three or more vehicles. Our doors are always open and we encourage our clients to talk to their personal banker.

‘Normal’ motorists can refill with their debit/ credit card but FNB warns that motorists should first find out whether the service station takes these cards, as they can exercise their right to only accept cash for fuel purchases. Muranda said “To make it a bit easier we wish to provide motorists with the list of service stations that have signed on, thereby accepting cards as payment methods for fuel.”
The participating service stations are Bach Street Service Station in Windhoek, CJ Service Station in Otjiwarongo, Jan Jonker Service Station in Windhoek, Kunene Mini Market in Ruacana, Oasis Camp Site in Sesriem, Pionierspark Service Station in Windhoek, Riverside Service Station in Windhoek, Solitaire Desert Farms in Solitaire, South End Service Station in Oranjemund, Van der Walt Motors in Windhoek, Wika Service Station in Windhoek, Walters Motors in Windhoek, Swakopmund Service Station in Swakopmund, and Threeway Service Station in Okahandja.

About The Author

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<