Select Page

More oomph for Team Namibia

In the back row, from the left are Oiva Angula of Telecom, Marike de Jager of Bank Windhoek, Thomas Weber of the GIZ, Ian Collard of Namib Mills, Pauline Thomas of Namdeb and Gideon Shilongo of the O&L Group. In the front are Lizette Foot of Team Namibia, Dixon Norval of FNB and also the Vice-Chairman of Team Namibia, Tarah Shaanika of the NCCI and the Team Namibia chairman, and Ndiitah Nghipondoka-Robiati of the Namibia Trade Forum.Through a team effort, more financial contributions were made by a range of Team Namibia partners, including founder members FNB Namibia Holdings; Telecom Namibia; Mobile Telecommunications Ltd (MTC); NAMDEB; Bank Windhoek and the Ohlthaver & List Group of Companies (O&L) alongside Namib Mills (Pty) Ltd and the Namibia Trade Forum (NTF).  This grant is being matched through a Private Public Partnership fund (PPP) via the Namibian Employers Federation (NEF) and Global Compact Network Namibia (GCNN) financed through the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) and supported by the German Government. The accumulative funds made available by these stakeholders for the incubation period of Team Namibia’s new strategy exceed N$300,000.
Team Namibia’s new vision statement is “Making Namibian products and services part of everyday life”.  Based on the strategic intent, the Board of Directors recently developed three high-level initiatives to steer the organisation in a new direction. Competitive standards for local manufacturers, consumer confidence, and economic sustainability are the three pillar of the new strategy.
Chairman Tarah Shaanika said: “We are delighted to get additional financial support from this group of industry stakeholders, which is vital to drive Team Namibia’s mandate and cultivate a preference for local products and services. In doing so, Namibians are not only supporting local jobs and our economy, but getting access to remarkable products and exceptional services, available right here on our doorstep.”

About The Author