Select Page

Reinsurance Corporation fulfils pledge – gives N$30,000 to Miss Namibia winners

Reinsurance Corporation fulfils pledge – gives N$30,000 to Miss Namibia winners

The Namibia National Reinsurance Corporation (NamibRe) handed over N$30,000 that they pledged to the top three winners of the 2019 Miss Namibia Pageant on Friday, at their offices.

NamibRe earmarked N$20,000 for the new Miss Namibia, Nadja Breytenbach and N$5000 each for the two runner ups, Julita-Kitwe Mbangula and Johanna Swartbooi.

General Manager of Corporate Affairs and Strategy at NamibRe, Ntwala Mwilima, said they have for many years partnered with countless organisations, including the government to undertake and support initiatives which aim to uplift, develop and empower the livelihoods of all.

“We thus recognise the importance of the Miss Namibia beauty pageant and were proud to be one of its sponsors this year and we believe in the Miss Namibia brand and the benefits the beauty pageant offers young women,” he added.

He said they believe that when young ladies participate in the pageant or any other pageant, they develop skills and obtain exposure which makes them strong women, but moreover they young women who have participated in the Miss Namibia competition will become role models to other young girls in their communities.

“We are therefore proud to be one of the sponsors of the 2019 Miss Namibia and wish Miss Namibia and her two runners up all the best during their reign and with their future, because the journey begins now,” concluded Mwilima.


About The Author

Mandisa Rasmeni

Mandisa Rasmeni has worked as reporter at the Economist for the past five years, first on the entertainment beat but now focussing more on community, social and health reporting. She is a born writer and she believes education is the greatest equalizer. She received her degree in Journalism at the Namibia University of Science and Technology (NUST) in June 2021. . She is the epitome of perseverance, having started as the newspaper's receptionist in 2013.