Select Page

Frankie Fredericks re-elected

 Vote of confidence.....Frankie Fredericks to serve a second term as president of Athletics Namibia

Vote of confidence…..Frankie Fredericks to serve a second term as president of Athletics Namibia

Frankie Fredericks was re-elected for a second term as president of Athletics Namibia at a well-attended elective congress held last weekend at the Etuna Guesthouse Conference Centre in Ongwediva.
During his acceptance speech, Fredericks thanked the outgoing council for setting the foundation  that helped in the revival of athletics in the country. He said the new council will “call on the expertise and skills of the outgoing council and the nominees that were up for election.”
The congress which was officiated by the Namibia Sports Commission and the Directorate of Sport saw a well-balanced group of sports administrators, former athletes and captains of industries being elected. Women represent 40% of the newly-elected council.
The elected Athletics Nambia Council Members for the next four years are president Frank Fredericks;  vice presidents, Dennis Skyrwer, Alna Similo, Carmen Walder and Modestus Mwiila;
Secretary general, Stay-C Namases; chair of officials committee, Xenia Pieterse; chair of coaches committee, Malan Kruger; chair of technical committee, Pierre du Plooy; chair of cross country committee, Tobias Hiskia; chair of road running committee, Reinhold Iita; chair of juniors committee, Satrick Bampton; chair of veterans / masters committee, Pieter Burger; chair of track and field committee, Leoni van Rensburg; chair of selection committee, Vilho Namufinda; chair of development committee, Hennie Horn; chair of finance committee, Essie Herbst; chair of women’s affairs, Martha Emvula; chair of medical and doping, Hannelie Britz and chair of disciplinary, Louie Cloete.
The following nine regions were in attendance: Khomas, Erongo, Hardap, Oshana, Kavango, Ohangwena, Omaheke, Otjozondjupa and Caprivi.

About The Author