Select Page

More entries for manufacturing awards, still dominated by large companies

More entries for manufacturing awards, still dominated by large companies

The best in the Namibian manufacturing sector received trade awards last week when the Namibian Manufacturers Association conferred the annual Manufacturer of the Year awards at a Gala Dinner at the Safari Hotel and Conference Centre in Windhoek.

No less than three entities in the Ohlthaver & List Group received awards for manufacturing in three different categories. The Ohlthaver & List flagship company, Namibia Breweries Ltd was named the Judges’ Choice as the overall winner of the Corporate Manufacturer category.

Two other enterprises, Guan’s Packaging and Plastic Packaging also excelled by being among the top three in four different categories. Guan’s Packaging was cited by the judges as overall winner in the Large Manufacturer Category.

Rent-A-Drum upset the rankings when the company took the top spot in the Most Environmentally Friendly category. This was the first time Rent-A-Drum competed for any of the awards.

This week the Namibian Manufacturers Association said the growing number of entries shows its members realize the value of the awards. “Honouring and recognizing the hard work and high standards of its members through this national annual event the Manufacturers Association believes it increases awareness of the important role the sector plays in wealth and job creation,” said the Chief Executive, Mr Ronnie Varkevisser.

According to the Association, the judging process has remained unchanged. After preliminary judging to ensure that entries complied with the rules and regulations, the entries were judged by an independent panel of judges according to a predetermined set of criteria. The judging included a physical visit to some companies to verify certain information. Thereafter the marks were processed by the awards auditor, Grant Thornton Neuhaus, who then verified the winners per category.

“The Namibian Manufacturers Association’s Board of Directors is satisfied that the judging process was executed in both a transparent and fair process,” stated the association.

Full Results:

Category 1: SMALL Manufacturer. 1st Karakulia Weavers CC, 2nd Embrace Namibia Enterprise CC, 3rd Unleashed Design CC.

Category 2: MEDIUM Manufacturer. 1st Ekango Salt Refiners (Pty) Ltd, 2nd Slowtown Coffee Roasters CC, 3rd Machine & Tool Maintenance Engineers.

Category 3: LARGE Manufacturer. 1st Guan’s Packaging (PTY) Ltd, 2nd Closwa Biltong CC, 3rd Windhoek Schlachterei.

Category 4: CORPORATE Manufacturer. 1st Namibia Breweries Limited, 2nd Namibia Dairies (Pty) Ltd, 3rd Plastic Packaging (Pty) Ltd.

Category 5: BEST AMBASSADOR for Manufacturing. 1st Guan’s Packaging (Pty) Ltd, 2nd Namibia Breweries Limited, 3rd Plastic Packaging (Pty) Ltd.

Category 6: MOST ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY Manufacturer. 1st Rent-A-Drum (Pty) Ltd, 2nd Plastic Packaging (Pty) Ltd, 3rd Place: Guan’s Packaging (Pty) Ltd.

The annual Manufacturer of the Year awards are sponsored by FNB Namibia, with smaller sponsors comprising Guan’s Packaging, Peralin Paints, Jaylo Productions, Dinapama Manufacturing and Supplies, Namib Mills, Ohlthaver & List Group, Plastic Packaging and Walvis Bay Salt Company.

Pictured at the awards Gala Dinner: From the left, the Minister of Finance, Hon Calle Schlettwein, the General Manager of Guan’s Packaging, Mr Herman Krauze, the Chief Executive of the Ohlthaver & List Group, Mr Sven Thieme, the former Public Protector of South Africa and firebrand against corruption, Adv Thule Madonsela, the Chairman of the Namibian Manufacturers Association, Mr Brian Black and the association’s Chief Executive, Mr Ronnie Varkevisser.



About The Author

The Staff Reporter

The staff reporter is the most senior in-house Economist reporter. This designation is frequently used by the editor for articles submitted by third parties, especially businesses, but which had to be rewritten completely. - Ed.

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<