Select Page

Fistball finals on this weekend

Sven Wiedenroth in action for SKW 2.

Sven Wiedenroth in action for SKW 2.

The final matches of the 2012 League Season will be played at the DTS soccer fields on Saturday to determine the new Namibian Fistball Champions.
Games will start at 08h30 when Cohen FC 2 and Swakopmund SFC 1 take each other in a match that will determine the first participant for the third and fourth place play-off of the Bank Windhoek National A league,.
The second match promises to be a humdinger as the winner between SKW 2 and Cohen FC 1 will qualify for the championship final, while the loser will play in the third place play-off. Although Cohen FC 1 have not won a game against SKW 2 this season, the last meeting between the two teams was a close encounter.
The team that makes it to the final will meet SKW 1 who are led by National team spiker, Arend von Stryk. SKW 1 has performed well throughout the year and they were the first team to qualify for the  final.
The SKW players have their sights firmly set on winning the Bank Windhoek National A league since the winning team will take part at the World Club Championships, which will be held in Namibia next year. The continental champions from South America and Europe will participate in that event.
While teams in the Bank Windhoek National B league may not have qualification for an international event in their sights, they are highly motivated nevertheless. Defending champions, Cohen FC 3 have already qualified for the final. They will face either SKW 3 or SFC 2.
Both teams are expected to be evenly matched and spectators can expect a nail-biting match. While the winner will be able to challenge Cohen FC 3 for the winner’s medal, the loser will battle for third spot where they will meet either DTS or Cohen FC 4.
The final match in the National B League will start at 14h30 while the final of the Bank Windhoek National A league will start at 16h15.
A prize giving ceremony will be held at the DTS club house in the evening where the coveted DANRIC Auto Player of the Day trophy will be awarded.

About The Author

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<