Select Page

A battle of ‘Warriors’ set for Sunday

A battle of ‘Warriors’ set for Sunday

According to NFA website, Hendrick Somaeb, Absalom Iimbondi, Roger Katjiteo and Petrus Shitembi are in camp for the Brave Warriors ahead of Sunday’s 2018 Africa Nations Championships against Zimbabwe’s ‘Warriors’ at the Sam Nujoma Stadium.

Brave Warriors coach Ricardo Mannetti has 23 players in training and notable names in the squad are strikers Hendrick Somaeb and Roger Katjiteo as well as midfielders Absalom Iimbondi and Petrus Shitembi.

Absalom and Roger were on loan to the clubs in Botswana. As for Somaeb, he is released by Jomo Cosmos and Petrus was also on a short term loan at Stellenbosch FC. We now have to wait for the administrative process to take place ahead of the announcement of the match-day 18 towards the end of the week. Its players that can boast the local-based guys with their experience,” said Mannetti.

According to Mannetti due to personal reasons, diminutive midfielder, Wangu Gome, will miss out the tie against Zimbabwe despite being released by Wits earlier this year.

Lloyd Kazapua, having not played at Cosafa cup is joined in the camp by Edward Maova and Charles Uirab to battle it out for the starting role on Sunday. Riaan Hanamub, who impressed at Cosafa, together with Larry Horaeb, Ferdinand Karongee and Tiberius Lombard, brings stability at the back, while captain Ronald Ketjijere, Oswaldo Xamseb and Dynamo Fredericks are options in midfield.

The CHAN is a competition organized by CAF to give local-based players of each country a chance to compete at continental level, as they are always overshadowed by players who play abroad for the Africa Cup of Nations, and two sides will meet on Sunday, 23 July again for the second leg at the Harare Sports Stadium.

The Brave Warriors in camp: Goalkeepers: Lodyt Kazapua, Edward Maova and Charles Uirab defenders- Tiberius Lombard, Charles Hambira, Romario Ndjavera, Ferdinand Karongee, Riaan Hanamub, Larry Horaeb, Edmund Kambanda, midfielders- Ronald Ketjijere (captain), Immanuel Heita, Oswaldo Xamseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Benyamin Nenkavu, Petrus Shitembi, Absalom Iimbondi, strikers- Itamunua Keimuine, Hendrick Somaeb, Roger Katjiteo, Mapenzi Muwanei and Muna Katupose.

The winners will the progress to the third and final round to face either Lesotho or Comoros. Ticket for the match on Sunday will be available on Computicket from Wednesday for N$30 each.

About The Author

Sport Contributor

The Economist does not have a dedicated sport reporter. This designation is used for several contributors who want their sport stories in the Economist. Experience has taught us that companies usually want their sport sponsorships published prominently, being the reason for a sports category. It now also carries general sport items but only those with direct Namibian relevance. - Ed.

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<