Select Page

Capricon Group announces change to Board of Directors

Capricon Group announces change to Board of Directors

Koos Brandt (right) will retire as chairman of the Bank Windhoek Limited and CGP boards effective 30 June 2017 in accordance with a longstanding succession plan approved by the boards, and Johan Swanepoel (left) will become the chairman of these boards effective 1 July 2017.

Following an announcement last week, Brand will remain a non-executive director on both boards and will continue to be the chairman of Capricorn Investment Holdings (“CIH”). CIH holds 55% of the issued shares in CGP.

Swanepoel, currently vice-chairman of Bank Windhoek and CGP, is a qualified Chartered Accountant (CA) and was the Managing Partner of Coopers & Lybrand (now PricewaterhouseCoopers), before being appointed as Managing Director of Bank Windhoek in July 1999. In 2005 he took up the position of the Group Managing Director of the CIH group. He has a wealth of experience in the financial services sector and has benefited from the extensive succession plan for the board chairman.

“On behalf of the management and staff of the group, we would like to thank Mr Brandt for his vision, leadership and exemplary service as chairman of Bank Windhoek since 1990 and also of CGP since its incorporation as Bank Windhoek Holdings Limited in 1996. Our congratulations are also extended to Mr Swanepoel on his appointment as chairman of Bank Windhoek and CGP. The board of directors is confident that the group will continue to prosper under his very able leadership,” said Thinus Prinsloo, Managing Director of CGP.

As of 01 July 2017, the CGP Board of Directors will comprise Johan Swanepoel – Non Executive chairman, Koos Brandt – Non Executive director, Brian Black – Independent non-executive director, Frans du Toit – Independent non-executive director, Gerhard Fourie – Independent non-executive director, Thinus Prinsloo – Managing Director, Esi Schimming Chase – Independent non-executive director, John Shaetonhodi – Non-executive director, Matheus Shikongo – Independent non-executive director and Gida Nakazibwe-Sekandi – Non-executive director.

About The Author

The Staff Reporter

The staff reporter is the most senior in-house Economist reporter. This designation is frequently used by the editor for articles submitted by third parties, especially businesses, but which had to be rewritten completely. - Ed.