Select Page

JP Karuaihe Trust awards student and legal performers

JP Karuaihe Trust awards student and legal performers

21 December 2016 – The best student at the Justice Training Centre in the previous academic year is Natasha de Beer with a 69% average in all eleven subjects. Recently she received one of the coveted awards for legal excellence at an event preceding the Annual General Meeting of the Law Society of Namibia.

De Beer also received a cash prize of N$3500, presented by the previous President of the Law Society, Wouter Rossouw.

The Legal Excellence Awards are conferred every year for the past 10 years by the Judge JP Karuaihe Trust, founded in commemoration of the popular High Court Judge, Justice Fonnie Karuaihe who died in a car accident. All the awards for students of the Justice Training Centre and the University of Namibia were presented by Vicky Erenstein ya Toivo and received on behalf of the recipients by Philip Balhao of UNAM.

In the category, Best LLB Final Year Student, two awards were handed out. One for the old LLB programme and one for the new LLB programme.

Irene Shebo achieved 65% average in the old LLB programme (2015) and Johannes Uusiku achieved 69% average in the new LLB programme (2015). Each also received a cash prize of N$2000.

The Legal Excellence Award for Social Responsibility was conferred on Dieter Maree for his unselfish dedication to poor communities, to help them in day to day matters. He has received a similar award in the past.

The Legal Excellence Award for Human Rights went to the law firm, Tjombe-Elago Inc. It was received by Smart Elago on behalf of his firm.

The Law Society’s involvement with the Judge JPK Karuaihe Trust started in 2006 when the trustees approached the Law Society to help identify and nominate deserving winners for the legal excellence awards.

JP Karuaihe Trust bursaries are sponsored by law firm Dr Weder, Kauta & Hoveka Inc, with N$40,000.

About The Author

Daniel Steinmann

Daniel Steinmann is the editor of the Namibia Economist. Send comments or enquiries to [email protected]