Select Page

Formula One Grand Prix trip up for grabs

Mona-Liza Garises, Communications Manager of Shell Namibia. (Photograph by Hilma Hashange).

Mona-Liza Garises, Communications Manager of Shell Namibia. (Photograph by Hilma Hashange).

Local Formula One enthusiasts are in for a treat as Shell V-Power is launching an exciting campaign that will see one lucky winner jetting off to the United Arab Emirates to witness the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix scheduled to take place in November.
The campaign, which will be officially launched this Friday 06 July, kicked off at the beginning of this month and ends on 30 September.
In addition to watching the race live in Abu Dhabi, the winner of the competition will spend a day at the Ferrari World Theme Park and will also receive a shopping voucher worth N$20 000 to spend during the trip.
To qualify for the grand prize and other prizes on offer, a customer should spend N$50 or more at any Shell Select/Shop or on lubricants and fill in an entry form. They will then receive car stickers which will be placed on their vehicle in order to be spotted.
Formula One (the formula in the name refers to a set of rules to which all participants and cars must comply and was originally and briefly known as Formula A) can trace its roots back to the earliest days of motor racing, and emerged from the buoyant European racing scene of the inter-war years.
Plans for a Formula One drivers’ championship were discussed in the late 1930s but were shelved with the onset of World War Two. McLaren, Williams, Renault (formerly Benneton) and Ferrari won every World Championship from 1984 until 2008. The soaring costs of Formula One widened the chasm between the big four and the smaller independents. Between 1990 and 2008 28 teams came and went with a few making more than an ephemeral mark.
Michael Schumacher formerly of Ferrari, won an unprecedented five consecutive drivers’ championships and six consecutive constructors’ championships between 1999 and 2004. Current European Grand Prix Formula One champion is 31 year old two time world champion Spanish Ferrari driver, Fernando Alonso with 111 points, followed by Australian Mark Webber, a Red Bull driver with 91 points and British McLaren driver, Lewis Hamilton tagging along with 88 points on the Formula One Log Standing.

About The Author

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<