Select Page

Science commission appoints New Board

Science commission appoints New Board

The National Commission on Research, Science and Technology (NCRST) announced the appointment of its new Board of Commissioners.
The new appointments include the newly elected Chairperson, Dr Johannes Shoopala, of the Ministry of Agriculture, Water and Forestry and Ms Elly Hamunyela, as the Deputy Chairperson.
Other Commissioners representing sectors provided for in the Research, Science and Technology Act (No. 23 of 2004), include: Josephine /Haubas (office of the President); Mr Johannes Aipanda (National Planning Commission); Mr Uda Nakamhela (Law Society); Mr Franz /Uirab (Ministry of Works and Transport); Mr Graca D’ Almeida (Ministry of Fisheries and Marine Resources); Ms Vicky Do Cabo (Ministry of Mines and Energy) and Elly Hamunyela (Ministry of Environment and Tourism).
Meanwhile, commissioners representing Science Councils of the Commission are; Dr. Martha Kandawa-Schulz (Chairperson of the Biosafety Council) and Mr Moses Molatendi (Chairperson of the Indigenous Knowledge Systems Council). Mr Maitjituavi Kavetu of NANSO is the nominated member as provided for in the Public Enterprises Act.
During the official commissioners’ appointment meeting, Hon. Dr. Itah Kandji-Murangi, the Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation said, “I am astounded at the level of experience we are able to access with these newly appointed commissioners.
We have a very strong leadership foundation in place and we could not be more pleased with these appointments. Each of these individuals’ deep professional backgrounds and passionate commitment to research and development will bring insightful perspectives to our organization”.

About The Author

Community Contributor

The Community Contributor is any of a number of authors whose specific beat is community wellness, development and upliftment. Many of the authors have been contributors to the Economist for years. Others work for commercial enterprises, specialising in spreading their Corporate Social Responsibility messages. Ed.

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<