Select Page

Table Tennis Cup set to be annual event

Table Tennis Cup set to be annual event

The first ever Bank Windhoek Junior Masters Cup hosted last weekend, turned out to be a success with large crowds converging at the two tables that were set up at Maerua Mall.
This was said by the organisors who in turn want to make the tournament into an annual event.
Eight of Namibia’s best boys and five girls converged at the tournament which started last week Friday and ended on saturday..
As the tournament progressed, it became apparent that Yannick Bohn and Dietrich Möwes were to fight out the overall win in the boy’s category among themselves. The pair eventually met in the last game of the day and what ensued now, was a memorable game and the perfect ending to a great event.
Möwes had been the more consistent player, losing only a few sets throughout. Bohn had been almost equally successful, but more lost sets meant the youngster from Windhoek had to win the last match in straight sets to take the win.
And what seemed nearly impossible almost became reality. Bohn started aggressive, taking the game to his opponent. Top seed Möwes couldn’t find an answer to the attacks and lost the first set. Things didn’t look much better for Möwes in the second set as Bohn kept up the pressure to win it.
The third and final set had to settle it for good. With nerves of steel, Möwes managed to turn things around in dramatic fashion to just edge past his rival and win the tournament and be crowned Bank Windhoek Junior Masters Cup Champion with the closets of margins.
The end to the junior’s women’s final was almost as dramatic. Reese Saunderson and Kaitlyn Beukes faced off in their last games with both having won all their matches building up to the tournament finale.
But here Saunderson was not going to let slip. The number one seeded collected point after point.
She beat her rival 3:0.
“Judging by the positive experiences and the execllent feeback we have received after this event, we look forward to make this an annual event and also host various other sports events at Maearua Mall”, Proactive’s Managing Director Heiko Diehl said.
Results overview: Boys: 1. Dietrich Möwes 2. Yannick Bohn 3. Kean Tait
Girls: 1. Reese Sauderson 2. Kaitlyn Beukes 3. Raica Coelho
All participants: Boys: Girls: Yannick Bohn, Reese Sauderson, Dietrich Möwes, Kaitlyn Beukes, Delton Dreyer, Cecile Voigts Kean Tait, Raica Coelho, Ewan Orlam, Tayla-Reese Tait, Raimo Dengeinge, Zwandile Kooper and Fortune Hashoongo.

About The Author


Today the Typesetter is a position at a newspaper that is mostly outdated since lead typesetting disappeared about fifty years ago. It is however a convenient term to indicate a person that is responsible for the technical refinement of publishing including web publishing. The Typesetter does not contribute to editorial content but makes sure that all elements are where they belong. - Ed.