Select Page

Deft cyclists recognised

Overall women’s champion Irene Steyn (2.f.r.) is all smiles after receiving her award from KIA Namibia’s Sales Manager JF van Eeden (2.f.l.). Michelle Doman came in second (l.) came in second, followed by Michelle Vorster.

KIA Namibia’s Sales Manager JF van Eeden (2.f.r.) congratulates winner Raul Costa Seibeb (2.f.l.), second placed Michael Pretorius (r.) and Tjipe Murangi, who made the third overall place.

KIA Namibia rewarded the top performers of this year’s Kia MTB series, which came to a close some two weeks ago with the Daan Viljoen Sun Karros MTB Race.

Prices were handed over for the overall winners of the men’s and women’s category as well as the top juniors, veterans and masters. The series stretched over six races, with only the best four results taken into consideration. The series comprised of the races at Klein-Aus Vista, Otjiwa, Dundee Tsumeb, Ugab Terrace close to Outjo as well as the Skyride and Daan Viljoen races close to Windhoek.
Raul Costa Seibeb was by far the most successful participant. The shooting star won every single race in the men’s division thus accumulating the maximum of 1000 points and taking home the winners price money.
KIA elite rider Michael Pretorius came in second with 650 points, while Tjipe Murangi made the third place (610).
The women’s competition was a bit closer contested. Irene Steyn eventually secured the overall win with 950 points, followed by Michelle Doman (700) and Michelle Vorster (500).
Other results included: Top Juniors: Herbert Peters and Natascha Kuehl
Top Veterans: Heino Windisch and Barbara Ackermann
Top Masters: Frank Snyman and Karin Brockmann

About The Author