Select Page

Fierce competition at MTN triathlon

Frank Bombosch, winner of the Male Endurance. Simon Shipingana recorded the best run time on the route and was part of the winning NDF team.The annual MTN Off Road Triathlon, which was hosted by OTB Sport, took place at the Friedenau Dam on 1 April and according to Patrick de Goede, 2010 winner of the triathlon, it was the best race yet.
“I think it’s safe to say that this is the best local field ever assembled on Namibian soil in the 25 years triathlon has been around.”
The event attracted over 200 participants. The individual endurance event which consisted of a 1.2 km swim, 24km bike ride and 8.7km run was the highlight of the day’s races. The pace and competition was fierce. Frank Bombosch finished first overall in a time of 2:09:48. Bombosch once again showed why he once was an Olympic hopeful. He had a solid swim and thereafter, he was able to give stick on the bike to create a comfortable lead between him and the pack fighting it out for second. The race for second place was neck on neck between Phillip Steyn, Patrick De Goede, Paddy Murphy, Andy Chase and Archie Graham.
To have five guys fighting for second place going in to the final stage of the triathlon – the run –  is unheard of in Namibia. Steyn had an excellent run and was able to take the lead and beat Murphy to second place. Steyn’s second place victory was a big  surprise – no small feat to beat triathlon legends, Murphy and de Goede. Murphy came in third in a time of 2:10:30 and won the Masters age category.  Another new shining star was 15 year old Jean-Paul Burger who took overall 7th position in a time of 2:18:49.
Event organisers, OTB Sport, said they were pleased with the general atmosphere and the high standard of competition.

About The Author