Select Page

Nedbank supports Women Action for Development

From left to right Dennis Zaire – Konrad Adenauer Stiftung Programme Manager, Mox Shilongo – Nedbank Rundu Branch Manager, Siegfried Mutirua – Old Mutual Rundu Branch Manager, Hon. Samuel Mbambo Mbambo – Kavango East Governor, and Salatiel Shinedima – WAD Executive Director.

Nedbank in partnership with Old Mutual Namibia continues its extended support to Women Action for Development (WAD) to host their Field Days for the following one-year period.

WAD has been primed to empower primarily rural women and men in the socio-economic and social upliftment fields for the past 21 years, complementing the work of the government to reduce poverty and unemployment.
Nedbank’s partnership with WAD has been a mainstay of Nedbank’s Corporate Social Investment programme for some time. WAD Field Days have proven to be very popular training events, presenting key learning to community members, with exceptional attendance of decision-makers at regional and local authority levels and community leaders. WAD’s training programmes are intended to enhance the unemployed’s chances of finding jobs, and to assist many of them to start their own businesses.
In a recent cheque handover ceremony that took place in Rundu, Nedbank Rundu Branch Manager, Mr. Mox Shilongo, said, “Over the past few years Nedbank has been supporting the activities of WAD and it is our honour to continue our support of this noteworthy development programme, which has delivered tangible positive impacts in the communities they reach.”
“We believe that this sponsorship forms an integral part of the bank’s overall corporate social responsibility efforts and it will undoubtedly contribute significantly to relieve the pressing need the broader society,” he added.
Shilongo said that the partnership will further enhance WAD’s efforts of uniting people across the board to help fight poverty and contribute positively to the upliftment of women in disadvantaged communities.

About The Author

Rain Rate >UTC + 2 hrs = Namibian Time<