Select Page

Bible Society announces new Board

Back row f.l.t.r. Dean Abraham │Kheibeb (Chairperson); Mr Andre van der Walt; Mr Tebs Xulu (Additional Member to the Executive Committee); Rev Barnie van der Walt (Chief Executive); Mr Flip Genis; Mr Jan Nitschke (Additional Member to the Executive Committee). Front row f.l.t.r. Dr Martin Ngodji; Ms Angela Katjimune; Rev Elritia le Roux (Vice Chairperson); Mr Dirk van Zyl (Treasurer); (absent: Mr Laurentius Davids and Dr Martin van Niekerk)

The Bible Society this week announced three new board members has joined the existing team at the constitution meeting which took place a week earlier. The Bible Society board comprises twelve members. The board is responsible for governance.

“What is not always so visible to the public, is all the behind-the-scenes work that is done with regards to policy formation, strategic direction and decision-making. A strong governance team is an invaluable asset to any company, and for the Bible Society this asset is embodied in the 12 individuals who form part of the Board” said the Bible Society in the announcement.
“At the constituting meeting of the board which took place on 1 June 2015, three new members were welcomed, and the office bearers were elected. This board will serve for one year.”
Board involvement in fundraising and other special events is often sought, to make them more familiar not only to the staff but also to the various audiences the Bible Society serves. In the past year the main focus of the board was in crafting strategic elements for the next 4 years, and with community upliftment projects. The board was also very active in their regular meetings to discuss and deliberate on issues regarding policy, personnel, finances and governance.
The board consists of members of the Evangelical Lutheran Church, the Roman Catholic Church, the Dutch Reformed (NG) Church, the Protestant Unity Church, the Nederduitsch Hervormde Church, the Anglican Church, the Apostolic Faith Mission and the Seventh Day Adventist Church.
Board members are nominated for election either by their congregations or by individuals who are members of the Bible Society.

About The Author