Select Page

Guides go the extra mile with new exco

From left to right: Christo Viljoen, Head of FNB’s Agriculture and Tourism division, Kurt Schlenther, recently awarded Tourist Guide of the Year 2014, Danica Smith, executive member of the Tourist Guide Association of Namibia and Emiliano Benolich, the runner-up in the best tourist guide awards.

The Tourist Guides Association of Namibia is on the roll with a new executive committee elected as the association’s annual general meeting just over a month ago.

The association’s new exco comprises Emiliano Benolich as new Chairperson, Faustin Kupasula (co-opted) as Vice-Chairperson, Gudrun Middendorff as Treasurer, Kurt Schlenther as the outgoing Chairman, Edgar Naude, Danica Smith, Paulo de Oliveira, Rolf Heinrich (co-opted), Werner Schlierkamp, Tommie Britz, Rocco Talia and Ueraje Tjambiru, also co-opted.
The Tourist Guides Association was formerly known as the Tourguide Association of Namibia, hence the TAN acronym, but it was felt that the Tourist Guide label is more descriptive of the work they do. In a statement announcing the new exco, TAN said “TAN invites all the tourist guides to join the association and is committed to representing, promoting, protecting and developing the association and its members’ interests as well as promoting and maintaining the highest standards of professionalism among its members.”
TAN thanked its existing members for their support to celebrate the association’s 21st anniversary. This took place immediately after the annual general meeting at the Gondwana Shebeen. O&L Leisure also contributed to the success of the evening.
At the anniversary celebrations, FNB Namibia together with TAN represented the 1st ever “Tourist Guide of the Year Award” to Kurt Schlenther, pioneer tourist guide and long-serving former chairman of the association. New chairman, Emiliano Benolich is the runner-up.

About The Author